Difference between revisions of "Hispaniola"

From TLP
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 2: Line 2:
[[Category:Places of the Haitian Revolution]]

Revision as of 18:43, 24 September 2005

Hispaniola - the name given by the european colonizers to the entire island containing the countries Saint-Domingue (modern-day Haiti) and San Domingo (the modern-day Dominican Republic). After the successful Haitian revolution, the island was renamed Haïti a french spelling of the Taino name Ayiti, meaning land of the mountains.