Difference between revisions of "Hispaniola"

From TLP
Jump to: navigation, search
m (removed misleading link)
m (added link)
Line 3: Line 3:
==See also==
==See also==
*[[Maps]] - Of [[Saint-Domingue]], [[Haiti]] and Hispaniola
*[[Maps]] - Of [[Saint-Domingue]], [[Haiti]] and Hispaniola.
*[[Taíno]] - The original inhabitants of the island.
==External Links==
==External Links==

Revision as of 03:19, 7 December 2005

Map of Hispaniola
The Island in pre-columbian times.
Hispaniola (Spanish: Hispañola)- the name given by the european (Spanish) colonizers to the entire island containing the countries Saint-Domingue (modern-day Haiti) and San Domingo (the modern-day Dominican Republic). After the successful Haitian revolution, the island was renamed Haïti bby the Haitians, a french spelling of the Taino name Ayiti, meaning land of the mountains. Another Taíno name for Hispaniola, still used in the Dominican Republic and Haiti, is Quisqueya (Kreyòl: Kiskeya) meaning: 'the cradle of life'.

See also

External Links