From TLP
Revision as of 21:31, 8 January 2006 by Doe (talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search
Map of Hispaniola
The Island in pre-columbian times.
Hispaniola (Spanish: Hispañola; originally: Española)- the name given by the european (Spanish) colonizers to the entire island containing the countries Saint-Domingue (modern-day Haiti) and San Domingo (the modern-day Dominican Republic). After the successful Haitian revolution, the island was renamed Haïti by the Haitians under Jean-Jacques Dessalines, a french spelling of the Taino name Ayiti, meaning land of the mountains.

Note: Another Taíno name for Hispaniola, still used in the Dominican Republic and Haiti, is Quisqueya (Kreyòl: Kiskeya) meaning: 'the cradle of life'. This name is preferred by many, since Hispaniola is the name given by the colonizers that nearly destroyed out the native people and culture of the island.

Area and Population Density

country population
(2002-07-01 est.)
population density
(per km²)
Haiti 7,063,722 27,750 255
Dominican Republic 8,721,594 48,730 179
Total 15,785,316 76,480 206

See also

External Links