From TLP
Revision as of 18:43, 24 September 2005 by Doe (talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search

Hispaniola - the name given by the european colonizers to the entire island containing the countries Saint-Domingue (modern-day Haiti) and San Domingo (the modern-day Dominican Republic). After the successful Haitian revolution, the island was renamed Haïti a french spelling of the Taino name Ayiti, meaning land of the mountains.