From TLP
Revision as of 05:39, 1 October 2005 by (talk)

Jump to: navigation, search

Hispaniola - the name given by the european (Spanish) colonizers to the entire island containing the countries Saint-Domingue (modern-day Haiti) and San Domingo (the modern-day Dominican Republic). After the successful Haitian revolution, the island was renamed Haïti a french spelling of the Taino name Ayiti, meaning land of the mountains. Another Taino name for Hispaniola, still used in the Dominican Republic and Haiti, is Quisqueya.