From TLP
Revision as of 22:46, 10 October 2005 by Doe (talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search
Map of Hispaniola
Hispaniola (also Hispañola in Spanish)- the name given by the european (Spanish) colonizers to the entire island containing the countries Saint-Domingue (modern-day Haiti) and San Domingo (the modern-day Dominican Republic). After the successful Haitian revolution, the island was renamed Haïti a french spelling of the Taino name Ayiti, meaning land of the mountains. Another Taíno name for Hispaniola, still used in the Dominican Republic and Haiti, is Quisqueya (the cradle of life).