From TLP
Revision as of 09:25, 21 October 2005 by Doe (talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search
Map of Hispaniola
Hispaniola (Spanish: Hispañola)- the name given by the european (Spanish) colonizers to the entire island containing the countries Saint-Domingue (modern-day Haiti) and San Domingo (the modern-day Dominican Republic). After the successful Haitian revolution, the island was renamed Haïti bby the Haitians, a french spelling of the Taino name Ayiti, meaning land of the mountains. Another Taíno name for Hispaniola, still used in the Dominican Republic and Haiti, is Quisqueya (Kreyol: Kiskeya) meaning: 'the cradle of life'.

External Links

Google - Satellite image and map of Hispaniola]