From TLP
Revision as of 08:03, 14 December 2005 by Doe (talk | contribs) (misc. changes)

Jump to: navigation, search
Map of Hispaniola
The Island in pre-columbian times.
Hispaniola (Spanish: Hispañola)- the name given by the european (Spanish) colonizers to the entire island containing the countries Saint-Domingue (modern-day Haiti) and San Domingo (the modern-day Dominican Republic). After the successful Haitian revolution, the island was renamed Haïti by the Haitians under Jean-Jacques Dessalines, a french spelling of the Taino name Ayiti, meaning land of the mountains.

Another Taíno name for Hispaniola, still used in the Dominican Republic and Haiti, is Quisqueya (Kreyòl: Kiskeya) meaning: 'the cradle of life'.

See also

External Links